The Executive Committee of the International Conference of Data Protection and Privacy Commissioners (ICDPPC) held on March 20-22, the first meeting for 2019. The agenda of this meeting included topics such as: the future of the Conference and relations with external stakeholders; the relations and representation of the Conference in other relevant forums related to the field and beyond; aims and outcomes, Global Policy, Standards and Models; Regulatory Co-operation and Sharing Good Practice; Human Rights and Social Protection; Economic Governance and the Digital Economy; Democratic Rights and Political Processes; Strengthening Data Governance at National Level; Review of key goals, themes/priorities and objectives; the members of the Executive Committee were informed on the progress of the Working Groups; the establishment of a repository of international law, enforcement cooperation and interaction among Data Protection Authorities was approved; the creation of the “Global Privacy Index” and its metering indicators was taken into consideration; new modalities for submitting and selecting the winners of “Global Privacy Awards” were also discussed. The Executive Committee considered and agreed on some content aspects of the 41st International Conference to be held in Tirana on 21-24 October 2019, while the Strategic Plan of ICDPPC for 2019-2021 was adopted.

The composition of the “Programme Advisory Committee of the 41st International Conference”, which will be co-chaired by Mr. Peter Hustings (former European Data Protection Supervisor and former head of the Dutch Authority) and Mr. Besnik Dervishi, was approved. Discussions on the strategic direction of the International Conference were held at this workshop.

The Executive Committee is the steering body of the International Conference (ICDPPC) and is chaired by Ms. Elizabeth Denham, UK Information Commissioner. Its members are Mr. Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada; Marguerite Ouedraogo Bonane, President of CIL, Burkina Faso; Angelene Falk, Information Commissioner at the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner; Raymund Enriquez Liboro, Privacy Commissioner and Chairman, Philippines National Privacy Commission; Giovanni Buttarelli, EDPS and Ventislav Karadjov, Commission for Personal Data Protection, Bulgaria (Co-host 2018); Besnik Dervishi, Information and Data Protection Commissioner, Albania (Host 2019); Francisco Javier Acuña Llamas, President Commissioner, National Institute for Transparency, Access to Information and Protection of Personal Data (INAI), Mexico (Host 2020) (Observer to the Committee).